Tags

, ,

Sometimes I cannot for the life of me imagine how researchers, scientists and educators managed to work before the internet came into existence. Journals that arrive via snail mail and travelling to hear lectures are unheard of today. All we know is free, fast information from the comforts of our homes. Let me say I’m thankful for free information (I think you may call it open-source), because people invest their time, effort and life into these things which we get for free. So while I use these resources, I try to remind myself to be grateful and to give back in the future.

Here are some online resources that have helped me at different points in time:

  • MIT theses
  • LSE theses
  • British Library theses collection
  • Dr. Jason J. Campbell has a very useful lecture series on methods of qualitative research (thanks to Prof. Liang Yongjia for the recommendation)
  • The Research Whisperer is a mandatory go-to whenever I feel frazzled/lost/*insert all and every negative gradschool-related emotion here*. It covers everything from pointers on how to write grant proposals and ethics to what to do after your PhD. I especially enjoy Dr. Inger Mewburn’s pieces.
  • Beyond the PhD has both your PhD journey and post-doc covered
  • Written your academic CV? Here’s how to. I find Dr. Hayton’s blog so full of positive energy especially because quitting is a devil that has taken permanent residence on my left shoulder (no kidding. It’s built a duplex complete with a swimming pool)
  • Start early on career planning.
  • SOAS has put together useful links on organizations that support grad students across disciplines AND useful software tools right here
  • If you haven’t already let PhDcomics make you laugh, drop whatever you’re doing and go take a look. Although it’s not a resource in that it won’t help you on your thesis, it is guaranteed to make you smile. (thanks, best friend for re-introducing it to me!)

I will be adding to this list each time I go through my bookmarks.

