Although I enjoy working at coffee places for the ambience (total focus, no one trying to peek at your screen or talk to you, space, wifi, infinite refills of filtered water, people with tablets and other working devices, human noises, the smell of roasted beans), I try not to make it a habit for reasons such as that I get palpitations and have sleep cycle issues after having coffee + I’ve recently misplaced a very important book which may have been left in a hurry at one of the cafes I’ve patronized in the past week. Also, if I save the money I spend on cafes, I’d be able to buy a moleskine each month.

Enter: Coffitivity – portable cafe ambiance to bring with you wherever you go, whatever the work.

And found on their site, a very clever move on bringing in  (cited!) research as to why coffee place noise and activity are great for work + creativity, and I quote directly from their site :

“Research shows it’s pretty hard to be creative in a quiet space.

And a loud workplace can be frustrating and distracting.

But, the mix of calm and commotion in an environment like a coffee house is proven to be just what you need to get those creative juices flowing.

Our team has delivered the vibe of a coffee shop right to your desktop, which means when your workspace just isn’t quite cutting it, we’ve got you covered.

Coffeetivity, enough noise to work”

Followed by a link to the journal article! (and for that, I’m totally bought over!)

I love coffitivity because it’s great ambience minus the harshness of caffeine and in my case, palpitations and painful insomnia. Plus if I follow up on the putting-the-money-aside-plan, I’ll be having a happy Moleskine hour on a monthly basis.

Enjoy your coffee (ambience sans the caffeine)!

