I worked hard at my PhD for 2+ years. Late nights, blocked-out weekends, traveling to meet people and attend conferences in places I never wanted to go, put a lot of things on the back burner and all to make sure this manuscript was complete by graduation 2014. 

Many months, presentations and emails later, I found out I very likely did not make the submissions deadline. 

I was miserable. 

Nat has a saying he repeats every time things don’t go the way we plan – “We’ll make the best of it”. 

So make the best of it, I did — or am doing. 

I started writing 2 papers that I hope will be accepted by end-2014, in collaboration with (by the time those papers are published, will be an) associate professor of U of Hawaii. I spent more time fine-tuning and polishing Malaisie. I went on a 5-day holiday to Seminyak-Ubud-Uluwatu. I unboxed my art-tools and books to work on. I took on more projects. I decided to swim, walk and meditate as often as possible. 

Someone, somewhere on the internet said “we either make ourselves miserable or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”

Here’s to making the best of sad news & hoping for better breaks to come 🙂 

